Sunday, August 23, 2009

Young-Holt Unlimited - Mellow Dreamin' (1970)

Classic soul funk lp recorded in 1970 on Cotillion records by the Young / Holt combo. This album includes great covers of "Wichita Lineman" and overall "Midnight Cowboy" + several originals as "The Creeper" or the beautiful "Melllow Dreamin'". Definitely one of their bests.

Eldee Young: string bass, electric bass, 8 string & electric cello - Isaac "Redd" Holt: drums - Kenneth Channey: piano & organ - Franck Gordon: trumpet, fluegelhorn

The Creeper

1. The Devil Made Me Do Dat
2. Going In Circles
3. Witchita Lineman
4. Mellow Dreamin'
5. Trippin'
6. Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head
7. The Creeper
8. There'll Be A Greater Day
9. Black And White
10. Midnight Cowboy


pollux said...


Gianni aka Cesare Barbetta said...

yhu lps are magic,
thanks again

cheeba said...

Excellent! Never seen this YHU before and can't pass p anything by this trio - pure magic as Gianni sez.


pollux said...

Thanks to you guys ! cheers