Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Klaus Wuesthoff & Kurt Drabek Orchestra - Multivision 2000 (Selected Sound 9083)

Rare german library album recorded in 1980 on Selected Sound label by arrangers/composers Klaus Wuesthoff and Kurt Drabek.
Featuring short themes with nice instrumentations

Transformation (Samba Rock)

Sambaline (Soft Samba)

1. Multivision 2000 (Latin Rock)
2. Multivision 2000 (Soft Rock Waltz)
3. Sambaline (Samba)
4. Multivision 2000 (Medium Rock)
5. Clouds (Slow Rock)
6. Transformation (Samba Rock)
7. Multivision 2000 (Slow Rock)
8. Sambaline (Soft Samba)
9. Multivision 2000 (Blues Rock)
10. Light Reflections (Slow)
11. Multivision 2000 (Slow Rock)
12. Soft Line Theme (Slow)
13. Soft Line Theme (5/4 Rock)
14. Antique (Rock Waltz)
15. Soft Line Theme (Samba)
16. Soft Line Theme (Medium Rock)

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Prophets Of Soul - Gregory James Edition (1972)

Not much time to post since several weeks and no internet at home (moving house ...), but this lp is worth to be known in the funk sphere.
It was recorded in 1972 on Dakar records by Prophets Of Soul, a band formed in the late 60's.
Funky keyboards sounds and a nice batch of various rhythms and atmospheres.
Features the nice ballad "Brother Marcus" dedicated to black activist Marcus Garvey, and some standards as "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Shaft". Just great.

Musicians :
Gregory Bibb: clarinet, combo organ, grand piano, fender rhodes - James Norris: guitar - Anthony McAllister: drums

Changing Things

1. Brother Marcus
2. Ain't No Sunshine
3. Grandma Heavy
4. Shaft
5. Changing Things
6. Love And Happiness
7. Make It Easy On yourself