Monday, March 15, 2010

Audio Directions Presents The Grab Bag (1976)

This LP is a direct-to-disk recording released in 1976 on Direct Disc label. As it can be assumed each side was directly recorded to disk in one shot "from start to finish".
As explained in the liner notes, this kind of recording makes the task more difficult both for the musicians of course but also for the mastering and studio engineers who must take quick and good decisions on the cutting electronics in order to not screw up the artists' live studio performance and give the recording its deserved rendering. And the result is pretty nice.

Musicians :
Ron Oates: Acoustic piano, clavinette - Randy Goodrum: fender rhodes - Jack Williams: Bass - Kenny Malone: drums - Pete Bordonali: guitars - Farrell Morris & Billy Wiggins: percussion - Barry McDonald & George Tidwell: trumpet & fluegelhorn - Dennis Good: tenor & bass trombone - Dennis Solee: Soprano, alto, tenor & baritone sax, flute, bass clarinet - Billy Puet: soprano, alto, tenor, baritone sax, flute - Buddy Skipper: alto & tenor sax, flute, clarinet - Sheri Kramer & Diane Tidwell: vocals


A1. Peace-Piece
A2. Itutu
A3. Can You Stand It
B1. We Can Fly
B2. And I Learned It From A Princess
B3. Emergence

Yuji Ohno - Chips (1981)

This set was released by Yuji Ohno & The Explosion Band in 1981 on RCA records for the TV series diffusion in Japan.
The famous theme composed by John Carl Parker is arranged in a very disco shape and music here has typically the Yuji-san touch.

Route 101

A1. Theme From "Chips"
A2. "Maquina" My Love
A3. I Love You "Chips"
A4. California Sunset
B1. Route 101
B2. Ventura Feeling
B3. Power Chase
B4. Moonlight Freeway