Sunday, July 26, 2009

Brian Auger's Oblivion Express - Closer To It! (1973)

Brian Auger's Oblivion Express Band released this jazz funk lp in 1973 for RCA label. It contains a very groovy and solid percussions / bass / drums section with nice keyboards.
The excellent "Light On The Path" is the only fully instrumental piece of the album.

Brian Auger: organ, piano, electric piano, moog, mellotron, vocals - Barry Dean: bass guitar - Jack Mills: lead guitar - Lennox Laington: congas - Godfrey MacLean: drums, cowbell

Voices Of Other Times

1. Whenever You're Ready
2. Happiness Is Just Around The Bend
3. Light On The Path
4. Compared To What
5. Inner City Blues
6. Voices Of Other Times

see comments

Saturday, July 25, 2009

Rudy Ray Moore - Dolemite (1975)

Solid classic soul funk soundtrack released by one the great figures of blaxploitation scene, actor and musician Rudy Ray Moore (March 17, 1927 – Oct. 19, 2008). This O.S.T. was released for Generation International label in 1975.

Soul Rebellion Orchestra conducted by Rudy Ray Moore / arranged by Arthur Wright - vocals: Ben Taylor, Mary Love, Revelation Funk

The Rumble

Willie Green

1. Dolemite
2. The Queen
3. Do You Still Care
4. The Rumble
5. Mayor's Get Away
6. Power of Your Love
7. Willie Green
8. When We Start Making Love
9. The Hitmen
10. Ghetto Expressions
11. Time Is On Our Side
12. Creeper
13. The Jive Jungle
14. Flatland

see comments

Friday, July 24, 2009

Christian Gaubert - Last Exit (1979)

A "must have" and nearly classical french funk album originally released in 1979 by Christian Gaubert for RCA label. It was reissued on 2006 on Japanese Production Dessinée label.
No need to present this gem for knowers, really every track is a killer.

"Sweet And Fool Like A Child" was a also compiled on the Funk De Luxe compilation released in 2001 for Hutch Production.

See credits here.

You can buy it here or here in reissued CD or Lp format or original Lp format.

Sweet And Fool Like A Child

Sweet Marilyne

1. It
2. Man On a Wire
3. Sweet And Fool Like A Child
4. Going Ups And Coming Downs
5. Sweet Marilyne
6. Keep On! Keep On!
7. We're Together
8. Running Wave

Boosey & Hawkes Background Music (SBH 3005)

Rare library Lp released by arranger/composer Dennis Farnon in 1973 for SBH label in the GREAT legendary "Boosey & Hawkes background Music series". This one is oriented to slow drama pieces with beautiful arrangements + some jazzy tunes at the end of the second side.

Paddle Wheeler

1. By Candlelight
2. The Veil
3. Protoplasm
4. Cataclysm
5. Intrigue
6. Time Lapse
7. The Alchemist
8. Subversive Element
9. Journey Into Fear
10. Requiem
11. Portrait Of A Girl
12. Suddenly
13. Paddle Wheeler
14. Ad-libs No. 4a
15. Trip - Scene
16. Wild

You can buy it here

see comments

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Spin - S/T (1976)

Dutch progressive jazz/rock band Spin formed in 1974 and disbanded in 1977. They only recorded 2 albums, both for Ariola label : An eponymous one in 1976, and "Whirlwind" in 1977.

Rein van den Broek: trumpet, flugelhorn - Jan Vennik: reeds, flute - Hans Jansen: keyboards - Hans Hollestelle: guitar, synthesizer - Jan Hollestelle: bass, synthetizers, piano, violoncello - Cees Kranenburg: drums, percussion
Covert Art: Chris Duinmeijer.

Beautiful Queenie

1. Grasshopper
2. Spinning
3. Excenter
4. Sea And Seasons
5. Little Bitch
6. Sunday Afternoon's Dream
7. Flat Tyre
8. Beautiful Queenie

see comments

Friday, July 3, 2009

Frank Pleyer And His Orchestra - Romantic Mood (197?)

Really nice and rare jazzy library album by German arranger Frank Pleyer. It was released on Golden Rings records in the beginning of the 70s. Other original copies were released a bit later on Morning records.
This album brings together some beautiful orchestration stuffs from various arrangers and composers, including himself. This is the first of two volumes.

Here We Go Again

Flowers And Girls

1. Remember Yesterday
2. Her Name Is Amy
3. Lady Like
4. Wide Range
5. To Be In Love
6. Flower And Girls
7. Blossom Dreams
8. Romantic Moon
9. Here We Go Again
10. Cheerless Afternoon
11. Smooth Touch
12. Taiga Melody

you can grab an original copy here for example. And also here !
see comments

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Martin Circus - Acte II (1971)

"Martin Circus" was a quite popular band in France during the 70s-80s for those who are today at least more than 35 or 40 years-old (not my case yet but not so far !). They were firstly known for their live performance album "En Direct Du Rock'n Roll Circus", released in the end of the 60s. After that they recorded some hits in the 70s and 80s as for example 'Je m'éclate Au Sénégal", "Marylène", "Tremblant De Fièvre", etc. that were largely broadcasted on radio stations.

Most of their work can be classified between some real progressive music (with a clear Franck Zappa's inspiration) and more pop songs that were more or less commercially-oriented. But the fact is that this band often tended to experiment new things and brought new sounds to the french rock scene of this period, particularly in the beginning of their carreer.
That is what this double Lp-album, "Acte II", released in 1971 for Vogue records, deals with. Despite of the demoded vocals (but funny too, in "Je m'éclate Au Sénégal" for example: "Je n'sais même plus où est ma copine de ch'val avec qui j'ai pris un bain de minuit, à poil sous la lune ..." well, french people will understand), this Lp is a mix of crazy vocals, nice progressive rock and pop arrangements and orchestrations ("Pourquoi Tous Ces Cris", "Poussières", "J'ai Perdu" - groovy wah wah guitar in the second part -) mixed with some bossa ("Le Tromblon Magique"), jazz and funk touch ("Hyznogod", "O' Secours Bob").
Anyway, a rich album and quite an overlooked one too.
And an opportunity to pay tribute to Gérard Blanc who died this year, on January 24, 2009.

Musicians :
Gérard Blanc: vocals, guitar, percussion - Bob Brault: bass, flute, percussion, vocals - René Guérin: drums, violin, percussion - Sylvain Pauchard: organ, piano, vibraphone, vocals, accordion - Alain Pewzner: guitar, organ, percussion, vocals - Gérard Pisani: buggle, saxophones, flute, clarinet, trombon, percussion

Je M'éclate Au Sénégal

Le Tromblon Magique

O' Secours Bob

Disc 1 :

1. Boudjateelack
2. Pourquoi Tous Ces Cris
3. Chevauchée Fantastique
4. Poème
5. Ti'Bill
6. Poussières
7. J'ai Perdu
8. J'Suis Une Groupie
9. Ouvrez Vos Mémoires

Disc 2 :
10. Je M'éclate Au Sénégal
11. Le Tromblon Magique
12. Hyznogod
13. Images
14. A Dada Sur Paranoïa
15. Façon De Parler
16. O'Secours Bob
17. J'aimerai Bien Te Faire Flipper Un P'Tit Peu
18. Ma Guitare

album is available here for example to get a cleaner copy. It was also reissued in CD format but is regularly out of stock.