Sunday, October 4, 2009

Prophets Of Soul - Gregory James Edition (1972)

Not much time to post since several weeks and no internet at home (moving house ...), but this lp is worth to be known in the funk sphere.
It was recorded in 1972 on Dakar records by Prophets Of Soul, a band formed in the late 60's.
Funky keyboards sounds and a nice batch of various rhythms and atmospheres.
Features the nice ballad "Brother Marcus" dedicated to black activist Marcus Garvey, and some standards as "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Shaft". Just great.

Musicians :
Gregory Bibb: clarinet, combo organ, grand piano, fender rhodes - James Norris: guitar - Anthony McAllister: drums

Changing Things

1. Brother Marcus
2. Ain't No Sunshine
3. Grandma Heavy
4. Shaft
5. Changing Things
6. Love And Happiness
7. Make It Easy On yourself


pollux said...


Ivica said...

Thanks :)

pollux said...

hey Ivica, thanks for your comment!
much appreciated indeed, I'd like them to be less rare ... ;)

Lafayette said...

Aight, great post...but I'm missing the 4BB credit! :¬)

Here's the full original post:

All the best,

pollux said...

Hi Lafayette, I even did not know your blog (and I always post my own rips) but thanks for your link, that looks great !

Lafayette said...

Hahaha, Pollux!
I was referring to the cover, with the 4BB-logo on it....which undoubtebly comes from our download.

No biggie! :¬)


pollux said...

whoops sorry I replaced it by this one I've found here: (hope it will help the seller).
But anyway it was an opportunity to discover your great job !

Cheers :)